Recording a Blogcast

Well, it has been a while since I have talked about blogcasting, so today I was going to talk a little about how to record an audio blogcast. The first item you will need is recording software. I personally use Adobe’s Soundbooth, but it is a rather expensive option, and for most people it is probably a little too robust. A free alternative that is a great substitute is an open source project called Audacity. Seeing that part of our lecture tomorrow will be on open source projects, I have checked out the program a bit, but will report on that at a later date. Anyways, rather than discuss the software needed to record a podcast, I wanted to talk about needed hardware.
The first thing you will need (assumng you already have a computer) is a microphone. There are numerous options available, and the best option for you depends on your needs and budget. In my personal situation, we needed either a whole bunch of microphones for every individual we wanted to record, or one microphone to record everyone. We ended up choosing the latter and have been very happy with the results. If you have the same needs, I would recommend using an omnidirectional boundary microphone. Although there are many makes and models, we happen to use the Shure MX393 (bought it used from a friend) and are very happy with the results. The only downside to that mircophone is that it is so sensitive that it can hear just about anything from traffic outside our apartment, to the fan that is in my computer.  But with a little editing and ingenuity, it works well for us.

2 thoughts on “Recording a Blogcast

  1. Eric, I’ve used Audacity for a podcast for an IP&T class. It’s a very basic recording and editing software, so I found it perfect for what I used it for in class. I recorded, added sampling and had simple fading techniques. I find it interesting you mention hardware, but what about the acoustics in the room?

  2. We are still trying to figure that one out. Since we don’t exactly have a big budget, we obviously don’t have a professional studio. What we have been doing recently is just closing our windows and blinds, turning off the fans and A/C and sitting very still. This gives us a good, somewhat clean recording. From there I can digitally remove most of the other background noise and the podcast is presentable.

Leave a Reply

