Asking for a Date

Recently, I made a post on our podcast blog warning of the dangers of The Digital Wall. Somewhat ironically, I am posting about doing more things in person on a blog. Well, recently I had the chance to practice what I was preaching. I asked someone on a date. I had rarely knocked on a door to ask a girl on a date, and therefore I decided I was going to do it. I was determined and confident as I left my apartment and headed to her door. It was about the time that I began ascending the steps to her apartment that I started to get a bit nervous. My pulse quickened, my pace slowed, and I began to second guess myself. But I was determined in my resolve to step outside my comfort zone and do it. Somewhat reluctantly, I knocked on the door. After what seemed like an eternity it opened. It was the sister of the girl I wanted to ask on a date. After exchanging greetings, and some conversation, I asked for the girl I wanted to take out. Unfortunately, she was taking a statistics test. I would have to return in about an hour. As I left the door, I realized that it would be difficult for me to wait the full hour. Suddenly, I couldn’t just rip off the proverbial band aid, but I had to slowly peel it off a bit at a time. During that hour, I had plenty of times to second guess myself and convince myself why I shouldn’t return to ask for a date. I went back and forth and back and forth on whether or not I should actually do it. Then a glance at the clock revealed that only five minutes had passed. If I thought that waiting for someone to come and answer the door was an eternity, then this hour wait seemed like a time period we don’t have a word to describe. Finally, the hour was up I returned. As I was ascending those stairs for a second time, I saw her apartment door open. She walked out, followed by her sister and another roommate. Before I could even think about it, I walked up to her and was asking for a date. And, it wasn’t actually as bad as I thought it would be. I did get the date, and I kept my dignity. Although it would have been much easier to ask for the date behind my digital wall, I felt a whole lot better about myself, and I believe that she felt better about the date as well.

Leave a Reply

