Secure Passwords

In my Digital Civilization class, our professor talked about how he used a program to randomly generate a secure, unique password for every website he visited. He stored this password using a program on Linux. I have found a browser plugin (for Mozilla Firefox that does virtually the same thing. Its called LastPass. Here is a brief tutorial video on how to use this plugin. Alternatively, the system that I use is a bit easier, and it will guarantee a unique password for every website that you sign up for. First, I have a common pass phrase that is easy for me to remember. In this example I will use the phrase, “Eric”. Then whenever I sign up for a website, I intermix the name of the website in with my common pass phrase. For example, if I were signing up for http://www.google.com, I would use the phrase georoigcl. Which is the first letter of the website, then the first letter of my pass phrase. Then the second letter of the website, then the second letter of my pass phrase, and so on and so forth.

One thought on “Secure Passwords

  1. Pingback: 42 « Hakuna Matata

Leave a Reply

