A lesson learned from a seizure

I had an experience in class today that I feel would be relevant to share. In my Environmental Biology class we had an activity where we had to get up and move around into different groups.  During the activity, I noticed a class member who was sleeping in the back. Another individual tried to wake him up and allow him to participate in the activity. But the student didn’t wake up.  I found the situation comical, I had never seen anyone sleep that soundly in class.  As we continued the activity, the sleeping student began vomiting and went into a seizure. I felt terrible for laughing at him because I immediately judged that student before I understood what situation he was in. My purpose in writing this is to promote understanding before judgment. Take a bit of time to see where others are coming from before you judge them.

Leave a Reply

