When You’re Not Expecting It

After our discussion on Mormonism, I decided to be a bit proactive and try and take advantage of the newly suggested missionary tools. So I posted the following status on Facebook.

This was not exactly the kind of response I was hoping for.  A member of the church “liked” the comment, and a non-member made somewhat of a snide comment on the status update.  A few weeks went by, and I didn’t put much thought into the lecture. One day, I was watching a documentary that discussed how European’s viewed members of the LDS church. During the documentary, I saw a statistic that I thought was interesting. So I posted the the following status (using my phone) and got a much more favorable response.

Shortly after I saw the first comment, I tried to log onto Facebook through a computer and chat with the individual who made the comment. Unfortunately, the internet hadn’t been working all day. I tried several times unsuccessfully to get it working.  After about 20 minutes, the internet began to work, and I signed on and had the following conversation with Kevin. (The following conversation is broken into 5 pictures. If you would like to be able to read the conversation, just click on the individual pictures)


As soon as I had this conversation I immediately signed onto Mormon.org and chatted with the missionaries to coordinate answering Kevin’s questions.

It was interesting to me how this kind of opportunity happened when I wasn’t expecting it.  I fully expected someone to respond to my first post and jump at the opportunity to skype with the missionaries.  It didn’t work out that way. Instead, when I posted a status to bring interest to the church and not missionary work, that is when the opportunity for teaching happened.

One thought on “When You’re Not Expecting It

  1. Pingback: 42 « Hakuna Matata

Leave a Reply

